The Spoken Word and Haitian Beer

Ok, the title doesn’t make too much sense, but the stories the title represents shows that the strength of Haitian culture is ever moving beyond its’ borders.

Melissa Beauvery, Spoken Word Artist:
The poem ‘My Grandmother’s Tongue’ is a love poem. It represents my love for Haiti and my grandmother who was always Haiti to me. My grandmother [was] very patriotic, always made sure each trip was a learning experience. It was through my grandmother [that] I understood the beauty that is Haiti. Not everyone can appreciate its beauty. Haiti has a kind of beauty that needs particular vision. My vision of Haiti is love…that kind of love keeps a Brooklyn-born artist such as myself constantly inspired and eager to write. This tongue, my grandmother’s tongue, is so important and was essential in my upbringing. READ MORE…

Prestige beer takes top honors:
The winners of 2012 Brewers Association World Beer Cup were announced Saturday at a banquet in San Diego.

There were no winning Florida breweries, but a Haitian beer, Prestige, did take the Gold Award for American-Style Cream or Ale category #42.

Read more here: http://www.miamiherald.com/2012/05/06/2786372/world-beer-cup-winners-announced.html#storylink=cpy

About Vive Harambee!

Vive Harambee! is a 501 (c)(3) organization dedicated to impacting the lives of people in developing nations by providing them access to clean water, sanitation facilities and hygiene education.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

